Dove-Meadow 5

A reply to: A letter from Meadow

Dear Meadow,

I must admit, I can see how you would be puzzled by my apparent lack of exhaustion. It’s pretty simple: I run almost entirely on momentum now. It’s a bit ironic, I suppose, but so long as I don’t stop moving I don’t realize how tired I am.

01-24-17_9:06:26 AM.png

To that end, I sometimes find myself tinkering with the refrigerator or microwave late at night, just trying to keep my brain going so that I don’t collapse before bedtime. Schedules have more or less gone out the window, though. Sometimes I have to nap at work and pray nothing is going to need fixing in the next 15 minutes. (Thankfully I now have enough seniority to ask someone to water the plants).

On Maki’s end, I think things are going much the same, though now that she works from home she can be more flexible. She usually feeds the littles before heading out to research tomorrow’s story, then comes back home, changes diapers, has food if she didn’t eat out, and writes.

01-21-17_6:47:19 PM.png

I honestly don’t know what we’d do without her.

Kiya and Kari are pretty names, I suppose, but they’re only baby names. Once the girls grow older, they can choose names for everyday use, and the baby names will be for family. It might seem strange to you, but this way they will never be stuck with a name that doesn’t reflect who they are.

01-24-17_10:14:16 AM.png

Listening is one of the most important things you can do. When Jena is sad, listen to her. Let her guide you. Just do what you would do for any friend and be there. It’s what Maki and I do. Maki has more practice than me, really- she’s a bartender, albeit a retired one. As she puts it, “The job is half listening, and half knowing when to pour another drink.”

Jasper sounds like a wonderful person. His profile came up as a match for me on the pen pal site too, but I don’t think I’ll write to him. Two sets of letters and twins might be a bit too much! Feel free to tell him I said hello, though.

02-21-17_8:57:03 PM.png

People often fail to attribute enough intelligence to young children, which leads to the children being frustrated. Treat Jena like any other person. Whether she is repeating words or counting numbers, she is making amazing steps.

It’s funny- when I was a teenager, I didn’t talk very much to my parents, but only because we had nothing left to say to one another. It felt like we had said all the things that needed saying. When I get home, though, we will have a lot to tell one another!

02-21-17_8:34:43 PM.png

As an only child, I can’t really relate to what you are saying about siblings. I don’t know a lot about your brother, but I know you love him and I’m sure he loves you.

There are so many things I could say to try and help you get through Jena’s down spots, but I know none of them would help me if it was my child being sad. Sometimes sleep is the answer to everything.

02-21-17_8:33:27 PM.png

My mother used to tell me about the nine-armed flufferbear who lived in the pitcher plants and ate only cheese. My father’s favorite monster was the great-big-stomper-whomper eleventy-ten meters high. Mine, of course, was the bumpy-lumpy monster that lived under the bed and nibbled on my toes!

The babies are still fairly young. Kiya is the older one by a few minutes (she’s the fussy one). Kari is just a tiny bit younger, and she’s a heavy sleeper. Both of them like to chat at me sometimes when I count their little toes.

I am glad to hear that all is well with you and Jena, and even gladder to hear that you get some mommy time now! With a little more rest, the world is certainly full of goodness!

Love,

Dove

One thought on “Dove-Meadow 5”

Leave a Reply

